My New Secret Identity

I am about to embark on a Trans-Siberian adventure. Unlike the previous 7 months of Siberian adventures, this adventure starting Wednesday will be a lot more trans. Over the course of 10 days, I will travel over 2800 miles and visit three different Russian cities. Three days on a train will put me in Vladivostok. They call this city the “Russian San Francisco,” but I’ve never been to the American one, so the comparison will be lost on me. It’s a huge port city, there’s a fancy bridge, and I’ll get my first glimpse of the Pacific Ocean. I’ll even be able to see Sarah Palin’s house. I’ll be sure to give a wave. After a few days in Vlad, I’ll train it to Khabarovsk (the second largest city in Russia’s Far East) for a day. From there, I’ll fly to Irkutsk. After a couple days, the train will take me back home. And then this blog will be abuzz with all sorts of adventures to share—as opposed to these stale tales of my sedentary life in Ulan-Ude.

Not that I think my life here is stale! I’m enjoying life as much as ever. I just find it difficult to develop material for this blog—somehow I doubt anyone wants to read about eating ketchup-pizza or baking snickerdoodles or going outside without a coat or the city-wide spring cleaning initiative (which, as far as I can tell, involves burning everything and then painting everything else white). Other than teaching class in a room full of scary-looking machinery and translating at Mormon church, my life’s been pretty calm this week. The glorious weather has made my wanderings of the city much more pleasant, and I’ve even discovered a new favorite spot. It’s a quiet place, a solitary place, just a bit off the beaten path. None of your guidebooks and travel websites will recommend it, and none of my friends here ever mentioned it either, but it’s a really nice place to stumble upon. Right near the Central Market, way up on a hill, just past the Geser statue, along the bank of the river, I came across a memorial in honor of the founding of Ulan-Ude city.

I’ll post some pictures at the end, but for now I thought I’d shake things up a bit by writing something in Russian.

Одним из самых сложных вопросов моей жизни “по-русский” является вопрос о самовыражение. Есть такая загадка: “если я– это я, то ты– это ты. Если мы– это мы, то и я– это я. Но если я– не я, то и мы не мы. Ведь если ты– не ты, то и я не я.” Hа мой взгляд, это значит, что все существование относительное, совершенно зависимое от контекста. Даже личность. С самого начала когда я приехала, я боролась с загадкой относительности личности и идентичности. Язык представляет важную часть идентичности человека– как он общается, как он выражает себя, как он представляет себя другим. И мне пришлось в голову, что может быть я другой человек на русском языке.

Ариэль– это английский-говорящая девушка. Как можно перенести саму сущность на другой язык? Переводится ли личность? Я не так думаю. Обычно, нет прямого, буквального перевода таких моментов как юмор, сильная эмоция, и ушлые особенности человека. Все по-другому. При таких моментах, мне иногда кажется, что-то не так.

Стало легче, разумеется. Мой русский язык улучшался. Все вокруг меня идет на русском, я окружилась русским, я слушаю русский, и– главное– пользуюсь русским. Мне даже снится на русском! Я стала более уверенной– язык как-будто “расслабился” (если этот выражение имеет значение на русском…). Я больше не боюсь ошибок. Я уверена, что я могу общаться в любой ситуации, найти слова, выразить идеи. Понять и быть понятной. Смотри-ка, я пишу блог на русском! Вот это достижение!

Но все-таки остается эта загадка отностительности личности. Кого я выражаю, когда я выражаю себя? Я– это я на русском? Я считаю что мой русский язык выражает другую сущность чем мой английский язык выражает. Но может быть эта новая, другая сущность– это также я. Может быть есть два меня? Две разные (но все-таки похожие) личности, мирно сосуществующие в одном человеке. И вот доказательство о том, что я действительно усиливалась в Улан-Удэ– я ведь удваивалась!

And even if Google Translate still left you wondering, I think you probably get what I mean. Some things just aren’t meant to translate exactly, and perhaps personality is one of them.

004 009 021 024 026

About Arielle

I am a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant in Ulan-Ude at the Buryat State Agricultural Academy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Secret Identity

  1. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right.

    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this information!

    Thanks!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Your method of explaining everything in this
    article is in fact fastidious, all be capable of easily understand it,
    Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

